Academic Journals

Academic Search Premier

(Ebsco) Academic Search Premier is a leading multidisciplinary research database. It provides acclaimed full-text journals, magazines and other valuable resources.

Gale Academic OneFile

(Gale) Gale Academic OneFile connects learners to the information they’re looking for with tools that make discovery fast and easy. This premier periodical resource provides millions of articles from scholarly journals and other authoritative sources with extensive coverage in key subject areas, such as biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology.

JStor

JStor is a highly selective digital library of academic content. The collections feature the full-text articles of more than 2,600 academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences.

Project Muse

NYPL Database

Provides full-text access to over 500 peer-reviewed scholarly journals and top quality book-length scholarship in the humanities and social sciences.  

Arts & Literature

Gale OneFile: Culinary Arts

(Gale) Gale OneFile: Culinary Arts offers a variety of information from major cooking and nutrition magazines as well as book reference content from Delmar.

Gale OneFile: Fine Arts

(Gale) Gale OneFile: Fine Arts places millions of articles at the fingertips of serious students of drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.

Oxford Art Online

(Oxford UP) 

  • The gateway to Oxford’s art reference works, including the peer-reviewed, regularly updated Grove Dictionary of Art and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists
  • Includes over 200,000 articles that span ancient to contemporary art and architecture, as well as over 19,000 images of works of art, structures, plans, and artist signatures

Biography

Gale in Context: Biography

(Gale) Gale In Context: Biography is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. Biography merges Gale's authoritative reference content with periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.

Business

Business Insights: Essentials

(Gale) Business Insights: Essentials combines all of the content formerly found in Business & Company Resource Center with a new interface designed around the research goals and workflows of your diverse business research community. Easily find information on companies, industries and more in the context of timely news, statistical data, and in-depth reports.

Gale OneFile: Economics and Theory

(Gale) Gale OneFile: Economics and Theory offers a strong emphasis on titles covered in the EconLit bibliographic index. This content is useful for starting a business, marketing a product, developing policy, analyzing trends, constructing economic models, investing for the future, researching rates, and more.

Gale OneFile: Entrepreneurship

(Gale) Gale OneFile: Entrepreneurship provides insights, tips, strategies, and success stories for business schools and entrepreneurs.

Gale OneFile: Hospitality and Tourism

(Gale) Gale OneFile: Hospitality and Tourism provides access to topics including the cultural and economic aspects of travel and tourism. Hospitality and Tourism offers current and relevant content on both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism industries.

Gale OneFile: Insurance and Liability

(Gale) Gale OneFile: Insurance and Liability addresses concerns over the protection of assets, physical or intellectual, ranging from the individual property owner to multinational corporations. Insurance and Liability connects researchers to hundreds of thousands of updated articles from leading journals

Current Events

Civil Disobedience, Social Justice, Nationalism & Populism, Violent Demonstrations, and Race Relations

(Salem Online) Curated Free Content from Salem Press & Grey House Publishing to Explore Current Events through an Historical Lens.

CQ Researcher

(Sage) CQ Researcher offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of today's most important issues. Each weekly issue provides up-to-date information on controversial subjects written by CQ's staff of experienced reporters.

Issues & Controversies

(Infobase) Issues & Controversies helps students and researchers understand today’s crucial issues by exploring hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture. Presented in a balanced, pro/con format, each article presents the key facts, arguments, history, and current context—an ideal resource for research papers, debate preparation, and persuasive writing assignments.

Pandemics: The Invisible Enemy

(Salem Online) Curated Free Content from Salem Press & Grey House Publishing to Explore Current Events through an Historical Lens

Treaties in the News

(Salem Online) Curated Free Content from Salem Press & Grey House Publishing to Explore Current Events through an Historical Lens.

Databases by Publisher

Salem

(Salem Online) This database holds the electronic versions of our Salem Press reference materials. Included in the collection are ebooks on history, and literature. Series titles include: Defining Documents in American History, Defining Documents in World History, Great Events from History, Opinions Throughout History and Value of a Dollar. There are also some current events issues viewed through a historical lens.

Health & Wellness

Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine

(Gale) Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine includes information created specifically for students, knowledgeable consumer health researchers, and health care professionals. This database is the perfect resource for up-to-date information on a complete range of healthcare topics.

Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health

(Gale) Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health includes full-text titles cited in CINAHL to support specialized care, treatment, and patient management. Nursing and Allied Health helps nursing professionals working in the field as well as students studying a nursing-focused curriculum.

Gale OneFile: Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine

(Gale) Gale OneFile: Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine covers the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine. Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine offers a wide spectrum of information, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research, and more.

MEDLINE

(EBSCO) MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains more than 25 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. 

Teen Health & Wellness

(Rosen Digital) Teen Health & Wellness provides middle and high school students up-to-date, nonjudgmental, straightforward, curricular and self-help support. Topics include diseases, drugs, alcohol, nutrition, mental health, suicide, bullying, green living, and more. Interactive health calculators provide personalize tips, and interactive content-creation content projects invite teens to share their own stories for publication.

History & Social Studies

African-American History

(Infobase) Covering more than 500 years of the African-American experience, African-American History offers a fresh way to explore the full spectrum of African-American history and culture, with tablet/mobile-friendly videos and slideshows, images, biographies of key people, event and topic entries, primary sources, maps and graphs, and timelines.

African American Experience

NYPL Database

(ABC-CLIO) Explores the history and culture of African Americans, as well as the greater Black Diaspora. This resource is for middle school and high school students. Searchable by type of content and by era.

American History

(Infobase) American History is an indispensable resource for student research. Spanning our nation’s history—from prehistory to the present day—American History was developed and curated by leading editors and scholars in the study of American history. It is composed of a variety of learning assets, including articles, images, primary source documents, timelines, videos, and slideshows.

American Indian Experience

NYPL Database

(ABC-CLIO) Full-text digital resource exploring the history and culture of American Indians. Ideal resource for middle school, high school, and undergraduate research on American Indian history. Fully searchabl by era, tribe, state, and region. 

Ancient & Medieval History

(Infobase) Ancient and Medieval History provides thorough coverage of world history from prehistory through the mid-1500s, with special Topic Centers on key civilizations and regions, including the ancient Near East, ancient Egypt, ancient Greece, ancient Rome, ancient and medieval Africa, ancient and medieval Asia, the Americas, medieval Europe, and the Islamic World. Each civilization’s history is brought to life through articles, videos and slideshows, primary sources, and more.

Country Reports

Country Reports delivers unique content on Culture, Countries and Travel from around the world.

Gale in Context: U.S. History

(Gale) Gale In Context: U.S. History is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. U.S. History merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Gale in Context: World History

(Gale) Gale In Context: World History is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History. World History merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Gale OneFile: Military and Intelligence

(Gale) Gale OneFile: Military and Intelligence contains scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of past and present military affairs. Updated daily, content supports key subject areas, such as governmental policies, the socioeconomic effects of war, the structure of the armed forces, and more.

Gale OneFile: War and Terrorism

(Gale) Gale OneFile: War and Terrorism contains millions of articles to help researchers gain valuable insight into conflicts and their causes, impact, and perception on a global scale. This definitive collection is intended for analysts, risk management professionals, and students of military science, history, and social science.

Issues & Controversies in History

(Infobase) Issues & Controversies in History delivers dynamic, concise, and balanced coverage that provides the background, outcome, and contemporary points of view for every major debate and conflict in history. Presented in a pro/con format that clearly explains both sides of the historical dispute, each article is supported by a timeline and a wealth of primary sources.

Latino American Experience

NYPL Database

(ABC-CLIO) Covers history and culture from all the countries in Latin America, the Caribbean, and the Iberian Peninsula, including content on modern-day Latin American countries, the history of the Hispanic diaspora, and indigenous peoples. Features peer-reviewed essays, reference sources, primary documents, media, newspapers, and magazines.

Modern Genocide: Understanding Causes and Consequences

NYPL Database

(ABC-CLIO) Coverage of the Holocaust and genocides in Armenia, Bosnia, Rwanda, and other regions, from 1904 to the present.  Material is divided into general overviews (Topics) and explorations of issues (Perspectives), supported with articles, images, speeches, and other documentation.

Modern World History

(Infobase) Modern World History offers a comprehensive look at world history from the mid-15th century to the present. Thousands of subject entries, biographies, images, videos and slideshows, maps and graphs, primary sources, and timelines combine to provide a detailed and comparative view of the people, places, events, and ideas that have defined modern world history.

World News Digest

(Infobase) For more than 75 years, World News Digest has been a go-to resource for context and background on key issues of both historical events and breaking news. With more than 300,000 original articles and a vast archive covering every major event since its inception, this database offers concise summaries of current events and clearly written essays on the top issues of the day.

LS Databases

Britannica School Elementary

(Encyclopædia Britannica) Britannica School Elementary  is for grade levels Pre-K and Elementary (Grades K-4).

Explora Primary Schools

(Ebsco) Explora Primary Schools pulls together content from various EBSCO resources and offers an searching/browsing interface suitable for younger students. This database provides primary school students access to articles, essays, and videos pertaining to a wide range of topics including animals, art and music, biography, geography, language arts, health, math,  science, and social studies (includes reading level indicators (Lexile Measures).

Gale In Context: Elementary

(Gale) Gale in Context: Elementary meets the research needs of students in Kindergarten through Grade 5. It features a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface, a subject-based topic tree search and full-text, age-appropriate, curriculum-related magazine, newspaper and reference content for information on current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

National Geographic Kids

(Gale) National Geographic Kids: Reputable, authoritative, and appropriate content that brings children aged 6-14 the world in a way they've never seen it before. Fun and substantive, National Geographic Kids will take them on amazing adventures in science, nature, culture, archaeology, and space.

One More Story

One More Story contains the best picture books read aloud any time, anywhere.

PebbleGo

(Capstone) PebbleGo is a curricular content hub specifically designed for K-3 students. Packed with informational articles, ready-made activities, and literacy supports for students of all abilities, it boosts engagement and fosters independent learning in core subject areas.

MS Databases

Britannica School Middle School

(Encyclopædia Britannica) Britannica School Middle School is for grades 5-8.

Gale in Context: Middle School

(Gale) Gale in Context: Middle School combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Students will find outstanding support to complete assignments in core subjects including literature, science, social studies, and history.

Music

Oxford Music Online

(Oxford UP)

  • The gateway to Grove Music Online, with access to search The Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music
  • The authoritative resource for music research with over 52,000 articles written by nearly 9,000 scholars charting the diverse history and cultures of music around the globe

Newspapers and Magazines

Flipster

(EBSCO) Flipster is a digital magazine collection.

Browse the full collection of magazine titles

Gale OneFile: News

(Gale) Gale OneFile:News Provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio, and TV broadcasts and transcripts.

Gale OneFile: Popular Magazines

(Gale) Gale OneFile: Popular Magazines includes the most searched magazines focusing on current events, sports, science and health issues.

Newspaper Source

(Ebsco) Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for hundreds of national (U.S.), international and regional newspapers. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts from major networks. 

New York State Newspapers

(Gale) New York State Newspapers is a database of newspapers published in the state of New York, including the New York Times and the New York Post.

Primary Sources

Smithsonian Primary Sources in U.S. History

(Gale) Smithsonian Primary Sources in U.S. History brings the past to life with a curated collection of images and documents directly from the Smithsonian archives and Gale’s leading digital collections. Selected to meet the rigor of U.S. History curriculum, this unique resource brings together critical and hard–to–find materials into a single experience. Primary source overviews authored by Gale contextualize the artifacts, while critical thinking questions allow for easy addition to any lesson plan.

Readers Advisory & Information Science

Gale OneFile: Information Science

(Gale) Gale OneFile: Information Science provides access to scholarly journals and trade publications essential for information professionals (librarians) and other knowledge workers. The database offers coverage of topics including information infrastructure, metadata architecture, publishing, and more.

NoveList K-8 Plus

(Ebsco) NoveList K-8 Plus is a trusted source of read-alike recommendations specifically for younger readers. It helps kids find books that are just right for their reading level and interests. Parents, teachers, and librarians can also find tools to teach with books and engage young readers.

Novelist Plus

(Ebsco) NoveList Plus has reading recommendations for both fiction and nonfiction, for all ages. 

Reference General Encyclopedias

Britannica School High School

(Encyclopædia Britannica) Britannica School High School  for grades 9-12.

Reference Research (Specialized Dictionaries, Encyclopedias and Handbooks)

Gale eBooks

(Gale) Gale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, or your public library).

Oxford Reference

(Oxford UP) Oxford Reference is an online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s DictionariesCompanions and Encyclopedias. provides in-depth, specialized titles from Oxford University Press Encyclopedias and Companions, and a selection of partner publishers’ scholarly works.

Religion

Gale OneFile: Religion and Philosophy

(Gale) Gale OneFile:Religion and Philosophy provides access to scholarly journals and magazines of interest to both researchers and general users. The database offers balanced content that covers topics across a wide range of philosophies and religions.

Oxford Islamic Studies Online

(Oxford UP) Oxford Islamic Studies Online features reference content and commentary by renowned scholars in areas such as global Islamic history, concepts, people, practices, politics, and culture, and is regularly updated.

Religion & Philosophy Collection

(EBSCO) Religion & Philosophy Collection covers world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Contains indexing, abstracts, and links to full text articles.

Science & Technology

Gale in Context: Science

(Gale) Gale In Context: Science is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. The solution merges Gale's authoritative and continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Gale OneFile: Agriculture

(Gale) Gale OneFile: Agriculture provides access to journals covering agriculture and its related fields. Researchers can access current and authoritative periodical content that spans the industry—from practical aspects of farming to cutting-edge scientific research in horticulture.

Gale OneFile: Computer Science

(Gale) Gale One:File Computer Science provides access to leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries. The database includes computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications, and the application of technology.

Gale OneFile: Environmental Studies and Policy

(Gale) Gale OneFile: Environmental Studies and Policy provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and other reference sources covering environmental issues and policies. The database includes diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policymakers, and corporate interests.

Gale OneFile: Gardening and Horticulture

(Gale) Gale OneFile: Gardening and Horticulture focuses on the practical aspects and the scientific theory of horticulture studies. Gardening and Horticulture offers biotechnologists, farmers, hobbyists, and landscape architects access to important content relevant to their pursuits

Science Reference Center

(Ebsco) Contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.

Social Sciences

Gale OneFile: Criminal Justice

(Gale) Gale OneFile: Criminal Justice informs the research process for researchers who are studying law, law enforcement, or terrorism; training for paralegal service; preparing for a career in homeland security; delving into forensic science; investigating crime scenes; developing policy; going to court; writing sociological reports; and much more.

Gale OneFile: Gender Studies

(Gale) Gale OneFile: Gender Studies provides balanced coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society. This database includes topics related to gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.

Gale OneFile: Pop Culture Studies

(Gale) Gale OneFile: Pop Culture Studies analyzes and contributes to popular culture by offering useful information for researchers in social science, history, art, and liberal arts courses.

Gale OneFile: Psychology

(Gale) Gale OneFile: Psychology provides access to academic journals and magazines that cover the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind. The database offers content of interest to both researchers and general users.

Gale OneFile: Psychology

(Gale) Gale OneFile: Psychology supports research in all fields of psychology: abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social, and all areas of applied psychology. Researchers, psychologists, counselors, and behavioral scientists will discover relevant information from the thoughts, views, discoveries, and reports found in this comprehensive collection.

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection

(Ebsco) Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection indexes 550+ scholarly peer-reviewed journals back to 1965 on a wide range of psychiatric and psychological subjects. 

Teachers & Education

Eric

(Ebsco) ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, it is an essential tool for education researchers of all kinds. 

Explora Educator's Edition

(Ebsco) Lesson plans, curriculum standards, and other professional development resources for educators.

Gale in Context: For Educators

(Gale)  Gale in Context for Educators gives middle and high school educators lesson planning tools to curate their classroom curriculum by combining standards-aligned content from Gale In Context student databases with instructional resources and an educator-focused tool set.

Gale OneFile: Educator's Reference Complete

(Gale) Gale OneFile: Educator’s Reference Complete is a great resource for a variety of educators—from teachers and administrators to those studying in the field at the collegiate and graduate level. It seeks to provide full text for titles in the ERIC database and covers multiple levels of education and every educational specialty, such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing, and provides insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy.

Professional Development Collection

(Ebsco) Professional Development Collection is a highly specialized database of full-text electronic information especially for educators, professional librarians and education researchers. 

World Languages

Informe Académico

(Gale) Meet the research needs of Spanish-speaking users with a wide range of full-text Spanish and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines both from and about Latin America. Gale OneFile: Informe Académico provides quality reference material on an interface configured for Spanish speakers, allowing researchers to analyze topics and conduct research in Spanish.